Sign in to follow this  

'95-97 250cc? DR250, TTR250, XR250R, KDX200, KLR250

Hi,

I am a dirt noob and would like a dirt bike to ride fire roads, gravel roads etc.

I own a 1150GS which I take offroad but damage if dropped is expensive and I am concentrating more in keeping it from falling than learning the proper way to ride. I mostly ride bad maintened fire mountain gravel roads with harsh stones of varying sizes.

So I am looking at a sub 800EUR bike to start with for recreational use on weekends.

I am looking for the best reliability, ease of repairs/maintenance, and not a lot of stuff breaking when I drop the bike. Speeds will be varying from very slow to slow.

I would like your input since I have not ridden a thumper before.

The things I am considering most are reliability reliability and reliability.

All bikes will be used stock and I am not looking at any aftermarket mods since I just want to get a bike and ride it.

I do not care if it has an electric starter or not as long as it wont need 10min cranking to start after a spill

Canditates are

Dr250

XR250r

KDX200

TTR250

KLR250

Please let me know your opinions. TIA

Dr250

i have an 1995 xr250 and its great for just riding around taking your time and its reliable too, i almost never have to work on it.I can't say much for the other bikes but the my friend has a ttr230 which i imagine it like the ttr250 and he likes it. From what i hear all the bikes you have there are great for what you want to do.

While there will be small differences between the suspension, there all basically the same. I'm surprised you're not considering the KLX 300R? Thats got a better fork than the bikes in your list.