Sign in to follow this  

Duke 2 handling is strange??

My mate has just bought an 03 duke 2, i took it out and it didn't want to turn in on corners and seemed very stiff on the steering and was constantly trying to sit up and on one occasion i ended up on the other side of the road, as i have never ridden one of these before i have nothing to compare it with but it does seem wrong, it feels like the centrifugal force was working really hard against me. Is this normal or is there an obvious solution. I have been riding for 30 years and never felt anything like this. Any advice will be good. Cheers. :busted:

Other than the usual stuff such as worn or improperly inflated tires, worn or loose steering stem berrings, worn suspention, crash dammage, etc. The only thing specific to the Duke II that comes to mind is the rear chain ajustor is supposed to be set with the axil in the upper hemispher of the ecentric, I.E. 10,12, or 1 oclock. If the ajustors get turned around or the chain is way too long or short it could cause the axil to wind up in the 3,6, or 9 oclock position causing weird handling. Just one of many possibilities though.