1990 ktm 600

Hi all,

I'm new to KTM and have a few questions.

I just bought a KTM it was advertised as a 1990 KTM 600. It was an impulse by from Craigslist :bonk: I looked it over and it was all there The motor kicked over just fine but it would not start.I then found out it has been in storage for 3 years. So I bought it anyway! Hey $400 complete KTM's are hard to find.

Once I got it home I pulled the subframe , plastics, fuel tank and such.

Drained the tank and flushed with fresh gas. I then pulled the carb and disassembled. Cleaned and put it back on the engine. freash fuel in the tank.

Kicked the bike ove with the Compression release held about 15 times Let go of the comp relese 1 kick and it runs great! Now I have a trail bike for the Colorado rockies!!!!!!!:bonk: :bonk: Other than my KX250F

So now the questions.

1) Is the bike a DXC? It has the head and tail lamps. So I dont think it's the MX. Kelly Blue Book only shows those 2 for the 1990 600.

2) WHAT the heck is the DXC stand for?

3) Any web sites for parts if/when I need them? I shop Rocky Mount ATV and babbitts already.

4) Do you know of any motor problems with this model?

5) did this bike come with the red frame blue motor and white plastic?

Enough for now. I'm sure I will have lots more questions this winter when I rebuild the bike.

Thanks for reading

The above post came from another place. I had it in the wrong spot cause I didnt know about the bike.

So an update...

I rode the bike. about 10mins. The next day I brought it to work and it was hard as heck to start. then it ran fine. After another 30 mins of ride time I shut it off and tried to start with no luck.

Later that day We tried again with no luck. So I tied it to a truck and pulled it and go it started. it ran fine. After the ride I tried to start it again with no luck.

A friend said to adjust the valves . And I plan to but to what clearance? .006 in. is all I found. Is this right?