Sign in to follow this  

Thumb Throttle

I'm sure I'll get some negative feedback, but I'm going to put this out there anyway.

I've got an '03 CRF450R. I picked it up used and it's the first bike I've spent any amount of time on. All of my riding prior to this (roughly 20 years) has been on 4 wheelers. With that said, I just can't get used to the twist throttle. This leads me to the idea of installing a thumb throttle with the intent of getting more confortable on the bike.

Any idea if this has been done before?

Troy

wow..i am glad i am not the only one!!

i have been running thumb throttle for almost 2 years now on 250F's and a 450 (current ride).

heres what you need.

any honda honda throttle (250r, 300ex, 450r, 400ex)

04 trx450r throttle cable

and a set of atv style grips.

it works great, i have been running it and love it! my buddy recent started (also converted over from quads).

i rode quads for 10 years and also perfered a thumb throttle....

email me if you need more info about it! I currently have mine on a 05 CRF450. Works on all crf's with a FCR carb.

bvcracing@gmail.com if you need more help!

I always wondered that too. It seems like a better system all togther. Twist the entire hand as opposed to just the thumb? Silly. The thumb seems like a much better solution if you take history an convention out of it.

I msut be missing something. They do not use twist throttle stock on quads although some convert to that. Why not twist throttle on a quad? Maybe it has to do with turning the bars and throttle access with a twist? The opposite what is it about a bike tha tmakes it not a good idea? Or is it infact a good idea?

If you put a thumb throttle on your bike, how will you call the quad guys thumbpushers!??

LOL. Someone post some photos! I gotta see this. Whatever feels right to you do it, they always say.

eeeeeeew. a thumb throttle.... I can ride all day with a twist throttle, but would get thumb strain in a short time with a push throttle.