rejet with no other mods

Hey guys, new klx450 owner here. Start off by saying this is the most awesome bike I have ever been on. Putts around with the kids well, hangs with the big boys well too. With that said I have been following the jetting threads and have a question. Where we ride there are SEVERE noise restrictions so I dont want to increase the bark at all, this means no removing the pea shooter or opening the airbox. Besides, the bike has enough power for its intended use already. My main concern is the bike running hot. I have never overheated the bike that I can tell but I am all about engine durability and heat kills. The only thing I have done so far is unplug the headlight so my second battery charges during rides better. Has anyone had satisfactory results just going up one size on the pilot or main jet for heat reduction or is a new fuel screw and/or needle absolutely necessary? Sorry for the ignorance but although I have been riding for many years, I have kept my bikes mostly stock and most of them have been two strokes. Again, not looking for any more power just reliability and this site is the best I have ever seen. Thank you guys in advance.

Jd jetting kit and a adjustable fuel screw is a great way to go. Also opening the air box doesn't make these bikes noticably louder.

I would say that the pilot is ok stock - 45- as I am still running that without the pea-shooter and

without the airbox restriction

the JD jet kit also uses the 45 pilot - with a 165 main jet and their special needle

you could try a 155 main and work up to the 165 if needed for stock restricted exhaust & air box

stock the klx450 has a 145 main

as far as a needle you can get the NCVU needle which I think is the stock needle that is in the

austrailian klx450 - it is the same as the nlzu (which is stock here) but it has multiple clip grooves

so you can raise the needle - the stock needle only has one grove -no adjustment