Sign in to follow this  

2010 Model Changes/Modifications.

Today I went into my local shop to get some new boots and a few service parts for my RMZ. I clapped eyes on the new 2010 models in there and went over for a look at them. We all know about the EFI but there are some other clever little differences.

One of them nearly made me fall over. I spotted it straight away because I've done the exact same thing to my 08! I'll explain it. Maybe people will be interested, maybe not.

The second time I checked my valves I almost totally stripped the thread out of the inlet cam cap as I was tightening down the rocker cover, it went soft. This really irritated me as A) I am an engineer so its embarrassing! :excuseme: I was using a 1/4" torque wrench that was setup on a digital analyser, so when it stripped I though it was a crap, weak design. I decided then and there not to repair the thread to take the standard bolt, I fitted an oversize 8mm stud in its place and used a nut to torque down the rocker cover. This was much stronger. Bearing in mind how regularly the cover has to come off (every 12 hrs at least) I thought about doing it to the exhaust cam cap, but its thread felt stronger so I left it.

My bike cut out on me once, right before a jump I might add. After some head scratching I discovered that the HT lead had worked upwards and the spark plug and ignition system had obviously lost its continuity and the engine died. I squeezed the female part of the HT lead that grips the plug and put it on. After each session I checked it and the thing kept working loose. I feared a mid race break down or injury so had to sort it. All I did was take a bit of alluminium and bend it into a step shape then drilled a hole and fastened it down on the stud I put in the cam cap. It then holds the coil pack down