Sign in to follow this  

YZ - WR Gearbox mod

Hi there everybody,

I know this is possibly the most asked question from all Yamaha YZ trail riders, but please indulge me.

I've been riding motocross for a couple of years now and am gradually swinging over to trails and harescrambles etc.

It's becoming increasingly obvious that my bike's gearing isn't quite suited for slower technical stuff (of which there's a lot here). Now, I'd like to know if it's really worth it changing the stock YZ450F gearing to WR450F gearing, is it like a day/night difference. Did your riding abilities increase to the extent that it significantly outweighs the cost.

See, here in South Africa it works out to be quite expensive +/- ZAR 7000 ($900). I don't want to go through this kind of expense and only realise a small difference.

Opinions are quite varied here, some guys tell me to common plain just sell my bike and by a WR or KTM, others tell me to simply change sprockets and determine which ratio works best.

Only a few of our top riders (those that ride Yamaha) do these gearbox mods, that in itself tells me something but I don't know any of them personally to ask what I'm asking this forum. Any opinions would be really appreciated.

Thanks and regards from South Africa

Ray Carberry

I suggest borrowing a WR and see if you like the wider spacing and ability to have a higher top speed. You are the best judge of what you would like.

Final drive ratio really depends on the types of riding you will be doing. Slow real tight technical stuff or blasts across open plains. Cheap way to get an idea is to buy a couple of counter shaft strockets and try them.

Thanks for the reply William, the problem here is that the WR isn't that popular and I don't know the guys well enough who do own them. KTM however is extremely popular, I've ridden a couple of new 250 and 300 XC-W's and they are brilliant.