Sign in to follow this  

clutch when shifting

ok so this is the question it will sound kinda dumb since i have been riding for like 12 years do you use the clutch when you shift up...the reason im wondering so late is becouse i had read this in a motocross book but i was never tought to use the clutch to upshift and i had never done so and nothing had ever happened to my bike and it felt normal but recently i had my tranny go on my YZ250 when i was practicing at a track so have i been wrong all these years please help

i say no. a lot of people say you can. i say you can only rub two pieces of metal together so many times. sooner or later it will brake. proven fact. go to search bar at the top. type in trans or gear box. most were caused by shifting with no clutch. but most people will lie to you it seems. to see you mess up your bike. i have been at the track n heard older guys tell kids it is ok . then turn around n tell their buddies watch that kid tear his traney up

so it is bad for your engine to shift up with out the clutch wow i have never used the clutch

You can shift up without the clutch, but with the stop button held in when you shift. I hear that takes the stress off the tranny gears so its safer that way when you don't want to use the clutch... I'm not 100% sure though.

I think its ok once in a while, but the clutch is there for a reason, it's definately harder on the tranny. I have rebuilt a few, and when you shift you are forcing one row of gears to slide into the other. If there is pressure one way or the other (either acceleration or decel) that transition becomes a lot harder and just slams the gear down or up into place. In theory if your timing was absolutly perfect when you up shift and there is no pull from the engine either way, the shift would be smooth enough too not use the clutch, I am the only rider in the world with this talent and it should not be attempted by any one else.... Ever