Sign in to follow this  

need help picking year crf250X

I am a newb here but i did use the search function not a newb to forums just to this one and im looking for a bike and i believe i settled on the 250X, ive rode several but they were either the original model or the year right after and i felt they were underpowered, i cant spring for a new bike i race quads but im wanting to get into bikes, or back into bikes i should say, i had planned to sooner but i got alot better on a quad and my sponsors got doing alot more for me and i love racing XC, play racing Mx and FMX but im looking for an endure bike i also like endurecross,

I would have bought a 250X the first year it was out but compared to the R is was so underpowered, i had a friend who raced and had a crf250R who had been made to run harescrambles he had it converted probably as much as you could mising a light you would have thought by riding it that is was an endure bike he shortly had a 405 setuo the same wat be hit dithed it for the 250, and he wanted to ride one of my quads so we swapped out and rode alot and i got the itch

I cant spring for s new one so im looking for advice like took at year X it has a better heard and card suspension eTc.

Im hoping you guys can point me in the right direction i dont mind a modded bike but i think id rather find a stock one and mod it myself i have race soonsors for my quads so thye will help me with the bike, so any info you could swing my way would be great, i hate to put this in the honda forum but the other bikes i was considering was the ktm 250XC and 250 XCF

need advice

help me guys

2006 is the first year they changed the valve material for "longer valve life" I have a 2006 and absolutely love it, do all the CCC mods and change the gearing and it'll bring it to life.

i also have an 06 and have never had problems. i wouldnt get rid of that bike for anything. just do the routine mait. and it will run forever.