Sign in to follow this  

First Dirt Bike: KX100

Hey all, been lurking awhile and thought I'd finally post. I've been riding street bikes for 7 years and recently got bit by the "dirtbike-bug". So, with about 4 days of actual dirt bike experience under my belt we began shopping. We did ALOT of reading, both here and other similar forums, trying to decide what would be a good dirt bike for me to learn on. Also I tried to ride as many different bikes as possible to get a better feel for each one. I'm 5'4" 115lbs and only have a 29 1/2" inseam, so allot of bikes we looked at felt TOO big or were TOO tall. I couldn't even touch on the KTM 200 and the Honda 150r just "felt" too big to me. I know they can be lowered and I feel the 200 will likely be a good “future” bike for me.

I had ridden a ttr125 and it really felt too small. Also, I've learned to jump and I like it, so I felt like I'd quickly out-jump the little 125's suspension. Another consideration was that as 4 strokes get bigger in engine size, they also get heavier.

Finally I decided to bite the bullet and learn 2 stroke before too many 4stroke habits could set in. I rode a KTM 105 and it was a great little bike, but I hated the seat as I hadn't gotten comfortable standing all the time yet, and I felt it was a little pricey for my first bike which would likely be taking a lot of "learning abuse".

Then I rode a friend’s KX100 that was geared higher in the rear and lower in the front. While it's a tad tall, the suspension was made for jumping and it seemed to "fit" me the best. I could touch most of the time and pick it up myself. Also it felt like a good size too me, not too big, not too small.