Sign in to follow this  

TTR 230 -motocross?

Hi, new here. Great forum. Little background, been riding for 5 years total. 1 year off road experience. I have 3 years road racing experience and ride street on a regular basis.

Anyone take their 230 on the track? How does it do?

I have an old 94 wr250 2t right now. I ride 95% trails and I will see the track maybe 2-3 times/year. The wr is a huge pain in the trails. kickstart only and a very high seat height. I am only 5'7 and kickstarting it in the trails is a pain.

I'm looking to get something with a lower seat height and e-start. Only bikes in my budget are the crf and ttr 230. Would love a new wr250f but $6k is a bit much for a toy. Just looking for something that will be fun on the trails and not fall apart on the track. I will not be doing any serious jumps, I doubt I will get any air at all, haha.

thanks for any input,

Mike

I've taken my crf230 on the track and it does just fine. Obviously you don't want to hit any jumps larger than a couple feet because the landings will hurt, but other than that you should be fine.

I've taken my crf230 on the track and it does just fine. Obviously you don't want to hit any jumps larger than a couple feet because the landings will hurt, but other than that you should be fine.

+1 :ride:

The 230s are brilliant trail bikes, passable Hare Scrambles mounts, and rotten jumpers. Suspension travel is too short, damping is insufficient, you will break your frame, blow out your knees, or both if you over-jump the 230's capabilities. But for a 5'7" rider, they will do everything else superbly.

I'll use a ttr230 to follow the beginners who are learning, but I've ruined bike and body taking the 230 at speed over the rough and jump-filled tracks. Of course being smooth helps but the weight and suspension can lead to not so pleasant afternoons ON the dirt if the speeds get out of control.

I was kind of wondering the same thing about this bike.