Sign in to follow this  

I need a new chest/spine/shoulder protector....

I've been using this SixSixOne chest rig for a few years now....totally love it for the lightweight yet stout protection it provides....BUT it just kills my neck and almost prevents you from standing up and riding uphill. The spine pads ride up too high on your neck and bunch up against the rear of your helmet. Basically makes you have to force your head to look upwards. On long rides this is horribly fatiguing and happens even with a backpack full of water weighing it down. Definitely a design problem...

Here are a few crappy phone pics of the model I'm talking about:

p221863087-4.jpg

p396254786-4.jpg

I'd like to get something new for this season, just not sure if there's a product out there I might be missing. I really want spine and shoulder protection....chest/roost isn't a big deal but would be nice to have. I'm no opposed to a suit that had attached elbow guards and I usually like to wear my prot gear underneath...

Looks like 661 has redesigned some of their spine guard designs....any idea if they are a little less obtrusive now?

Suggestions?

Thanks!

I have the new 661 design. I havent ridden with it yet but I cant see it bunching up onto your neck, the back plate doesnt start until a good 5 inches below my neck.

I have the new 661 design. I havent ridden with it yet but I cant see it bunching up onto your neck, the back plate doesnt start until a good 5 inches below my neck.

You have a link or the model name? Looks like they have a few new ones out.

i have this one.

http://sixsixone.com/Catalog_661Moto.aspx?id=1ef2829e-d18e-4f1a-8079-0a5b2b1d8bb9&product=f397dd4a-6c47-4029-90f2-9d741818906e

the top the spine plates remove if you want.

i like it for what it is. i only use it in the winter, during the summer months i prefer a hard external chest protector for ventilation.

Here is what I have. Best protection and value for the money: