Sign in to follow this  

Fork bottoming discussion

I know all of these can affect a fork bottoming, but which would you guys say affect it the most, springs, oil level, or damping? My thoughts are springs for weight and ride height (sometimes heavier for something like SX), damping for style of riding (MX, woods, FMX), and oil level to fine tune bottoming when you are close on the rest. I know the "air spring" can have a big effect, but which has the most?

OK...I just did some real valving changes in my rear shock and forks, so I'm a suspension expert now.:ride:

But seriously, I'd say I've learned the most about suspension action, damping, and tuning first from my long travel, high end MTB forks and then from my dirt motor. I'd say springs are the first and biggest element in bottomout...or to be more specific, controlled bottomout. If you are off to a notable degree in spring rate, everything else you do is a roundabout way to try and control bottomout. I think you have to start with proper springs.

The next is damping. Oil flow through the proper shims and orifices is critical for control of the suspension component.

Last is oil level. This is a really nice element that won't affect the spring rate and damping to any major degree, but can make a big difference in how and where bottomout will or won't occur.

Many MTB forks don't even have an oil level adjustment capability, probably based more on a weight issue than anything else, but it probably indicates the last place category into which oil level is placed. And understand, I'm not trying to claim total equity in the function of MTB forks and dirt motor forks. It's a balancing act, of course, because even though I believe that oil level is a last place contender, try filling up a fork with oil and have no air space, and it will obviously point out how important oil level can be in the extremes.

OK...I just did some real valving changes in my rear shock and forks, so I'm a suspension expert now.:lol: