E.F.I. - Do I Have This Correct?

Fuel injection is cool, I am sure in a few years pretty much all bikes will be E.F.I.

I have been reading posts here and on Huskytalk and hopefully will buy a TE in the near future, I know Palmer84one is very happy with his 450.

But I am still learning.

What I understand is that the bikes are very lean from the factory to pass our stupid emissions tests. By installing the power up kit - less restricted intake etc, remove the sensor out of the pipe, resistor mod, will really wake up the bike.

Also, there is "Autotune" - a system where you can fine tune the injection system. Am I correct so far?

Is "uncorking" the bike sufficient or is Autotune pretty much a must have? Does the Autotune self learn - plug and play, or is fine tuning on a laptop required (I am guessing a cable connection to a laptop is part of the system)?

I understand that the bikes computer senses when the bike is uncorked and this voids your warranty, what about if Autotune is installed during the uncorking, still a warranty problem?

What is I Beat? I haven't got that far in my learning.

This stuff is probably common knowledge to you guys, like I said, I am still learning, so help a Newb out.

Gracias.

you have most of it right.

When the bikes come from the factory the FI system is in closed loop forum. That means the fuel injection is reading the o2 sensor in your exhaust system and is constantly adjusting the electronics to get the perfect fuel/air mixture. This is the system in cars and works good but right now it has a hard time adjusting quick enough to work for aggressive off road bike.