Sign in to follow this  

DRZ dies when i shift out of neutral

so i start the bike with absolutely no problem. i rev the engine, let it idle a bit, shift out of neutral and then BLANK!!! it dies. and if i start the bike in first or second then gun it, it dies too. any idea guys?

bypass both safety switches (clutch and side stand) they're nothing but problems any way

Obviously this mod can lead to low speed tip overs and much embarassment, but still a good mod to do

oops... just saw your next post to Eddie... he is not being vague; he is being succinct

Do a search or PM me, and I'll give you a link or instructions on how to do it

Are you doing this , while the sidestand is down ? If you are the side stand switch is doing its job and all you have to do is put the stand up before engaging a gear next time . If not the switch itself might be malfunctioning . Disconnect it and join the wires together and see how that goes , greg

thanks bikeslut. and sorry im not a pro at this, Mr Sisneros. im new to the whole scene. its just that when you say "side stand switch", it could mean 1 of a million differentthings to me. im not as knowledgable about the systems as you are. but just remember, you were once wet behind the ears like i am now and you had to learn at one point...this is me learning.

jackrook- I hope that helps you... the "search" function works great here

also realize Eddie has probably answered the question 1000 times, and he is just trying to save time, while pointing you in the right direction...

thank you again guys for all your help. i am still about 3 weeks into this website and as i get more accustomed to it, im sure i will stop posting the obvious. bikeslut, again thanks.