Looking at used yz250s

Hi,

I'm looking at used yz250s (I definitely want a 2 stroke). I am a former expert road racer with WERA and CCS so I am not new to bikes. I would be using the bike for some trail riding and light fmx stuff. Are there any major differences between the earlier yz250s (2000-2005 etc) and the later ones?

What can I expect to pay for a 2003 or so yz250?

Thank you

M.Rich

Shrub will be here shortly....

I think the better motors were from 01 and up. The aluminum frame started in 05. the difference in 05 and 06 was better forks on the 06. No major changes since 06.

Never had one myself, but I have looked into them and think thats the gist of it. :ride:

I see a couple on fleabay within 250miles of DC proper for $3000 to $3500 (with the higher end one equipped with several extras like ASV Levers and stuff like that)

Shrub will be here shortly....

Ha ha.

1999-2010 motors are mostly the same. 03-10 motors got a different crank and need a different flywheel. 02-10 share same plastics and silencer. 06 got a new pipe. 07 got a new needle N3EW. 08 was a pound lighter than 07. As said, 05 was the aluminum frame and AOSS forks but 06 came the AOSS and SSS forks. Pretty much 06+ the differences were BNG. I've had a 03 04 and 07 and liked them all.

That all said, don't turn your nose up at a clean RM. The KX motor just isn't real good on the low end. The CR motor can be tuned but the late model RM and YZ motors are great woods bikes. The RMs are said to turn the best but my YZ turns fine to me.

03 is about 1700-2100

04 is 1800-2300

05 is 2000-2500

06 is 2000-2750

07 is 2500-3500

08 is 3500-4250

09 is 4500-5500

10 is brand new and spendy

These are Seattle prices so YMMV.

What their trying to say is the 06 and newer are the better bikes...

you guys are awesome. Thanks for the fast replies and info :ride:

Definately go with the 06 and latwer if you can, mostly for the superior front forks.