Sign in to follow this  

New to the KLX300R , carb choice MAJOR conffusion , helpppp !

Hi Guys

Am over the moon to say I'm a newbie to the KLX300R '07 , [mines a US Cal bike imported to the UK] ... having raced a WR250F '03 some years back I was looking for a lighter, shorter and great trail bike and looks from whats said here I've found it .... However ... am totally confussed over what carb mods to make [if any] ... so a big shout out from the Uk .. Hellllllp !

Reason for confusion ...

1. Having contacted Sudco and looked at Jerrys [four works] site , am being given the usual choice of

Keithin FCR 35

Mikuni TM33 pumper

Mikuni TM36 pumper

The K being the most expensive and by the sound of it the trickiest to dial in,

but why the two choices for Mikuni ?

2. Having raced the 03 wr250f i checked out what carb this was running and its a Keithin FCR 37 , which in the years i raced it i never had to touch and the bike was crisp from "zero-to-hero" ....

so BIG question here is Why can't I fit an FCR 37 to my klr300r ????

3. Before I go tearing into things , I collected the bike yesterday and bearing in mind its been sat doing nothing [& i mean nothing, its like new] for over 2 years , on start up , it wont run properly from about 1/4 throttle till you nail it wide open , any ideas or should i throw the carb in my ultrasonic cleaner just incase some old fuel has blocked some passage ways ? .. yes it has the stock CV carb .

4. How noisey is this engine generally ? ... seems a bit rattly compared to my old wr.

Any ways guys , treat me like a newbie , feel free to tell me whats the best [cost effective] ways to make the bike even better and if anyones got links to sump-guards , trick parts , workshop manual , etc etc or even old road tests I would love to hear from you ...

All best and thanks in advance of your help

Greg R

[klx300r A7 newbie]