Sign in to follow this  

Backin'-out of 2010 yz450f, goin' yz250 instead!

Well, here's the situation: I was payin'-off a 2010 yz450f over the winter. I am actually at 8000 of the final 10,300. ( taxes and stuff)

Yeah that is steep. They were selling it to me for 9000 before taxes. MSRP 9500. So I already had a few mods lined-up, add a couple of teeth, tuner..etc..etc

Well, while the winter is winding on, all I am doing is reading about bike topics on TT, and I can't help but come to the conclusion: If I pay that much for a bike that I might not like, I am part of the problem, as far as being a sucker to the marketing gurus in Japan.

I have been racing on my 2007 250f for a few years now, and I wanted more power. I did have a 2007 250t that I actually taught myself to ride on, but I sold it when it was pointed out to me that learning to race motocross effectively is done better with a bike you can handle.

So I have now sharpened my skills on my 250f enough that I am ready to use more HP. I do remember how much I liked the light feel of the 250 2t and the suspension felt so much more like the bike wanted to jump. I have to say the whole power to weight ratio thing is a big deal to me. I never liked the heavy feel of my 250f compared to my 2-stroke, but I got used to it. I really don't want to hop on a 450f and feel like I am riding a tank.

I want to go back to the small rads and narrow shrouds. I guess the clincher is I am tired I being the dealer's bi-atch, because my mechanical skills leave me chicken to mess with a 4-stroke engine, much. I need to go back to 2-strokes to sharpen my mechanical skills, and give my mx-budget a bit of a break.

I just have to say thank-you RAy-Ray..pedroski...and the rest of the 2t guys ..I have been reading your stuff lately and "...just when I thought I was out...you pulled me back in..." Or somethin' like that.

Thanks 2t guys!!!