08 530 or 05 525

I just sold a KLR and am going to buy a KTM. I'm pretty new to the dual sport scene. I've been doing a lot of riding in northcentral PA. Mostly dirt road, fire breaks, and gas line riding with some single track mixed in. I found a 525 with 49 hrs for $4000 and a 530 with 350 miles for $6000. Is the 530 worth the extra money for my skill level. I know the new bikes handle a lot better but whatever bike I get on is going to feel like a factory race bike. Would the 525 engine handle a 150 mile day of dirt road riding better than the 530. Looking for something reliable I can put miles on. Not something I would race. Something with more power and suspension than a KLR. Both bikes have been jetted. The 525 has a steering stabilizer, skid plate, but needs a ds light kit. I really dont want to fix problems with the new engines even if they are still minor. any thoughts would help.

If you can easily street plate the '05 525 in your state, I would pick this bike but only if it is the EXC model because of its wider ratio tranny. The 525 MXC has a much less versatile close ratio tranny. The '05 525 is tried and true, dependable, and a very good handling bike. The main advantage of the '08 530, if it is the EXC model, is that it is 50 states street legal from the factory. The '08 530 XCF-W is strictly a dirt bike like the '05 525.

+1

You want an EXC for sure and I would go for the 525 if getting a plate is a sure thing. Check with other locals to be certain. Also know that some states where off-road bikes have been "illegally" plated the state can refuse to renew.

If you are uncertain of getting and keeping the plate the for sure get the 520.

Bruce