Sign in to follow this  

Which Piston?

Theirs a lot of threads about which to use ( forged & cast ) I prefere the forged, less proe to cracking, weisco...

I trust my local dealer guys because several of them have been through MMI and they ride too. They said they use Vertex - so that's the piston I went with for my winter rebuild. They said that Wiseco pistons REQUIRE a warmup each ride or else you'll have a problem. I'm new to this and am only passing info on that I've been told...

They said that Wiseco pistons REQUIRE a warmup each ride or else you'll have a problem.

That they do. But I would still let a vertex, oem, etc. warm up.:thumbsup:

I trust my local dealer guys because several of them have been through MMI and they ride too. They said they use Vertex - so that's the piston I went with for my winter rebuild. They said that Wiseco pistons REQUIRE a warmup each ride or else you'll have a problem. I'm new to this and am only passing info on that I've been told...

MMI... :thumbsup: Don't all motorcycles need a warmup? I swear some people

Isn't vertex just a relabeled oem type piston anyway?

No. Pro-x and OEM are the same. Vertex is a higher quality casting than OEM but still prone to cracking like OEM. Vertex also is selling Wossner forged pistons now under the Vertex name.

Warming your bike up before you ride should be everyone's requirement, regardless of engine internals.

No. Pro-x and OEM are the same. Vertex is a higher quality casting than OEM but still prone to cracking like OEM. Vertex also is selling Wossner forged pistons now under the Vertex name.

Ahhh... got it, for some reason I had a brain fart with the whole "x" part.... haha

Thanks for the clarification.

I just installed a Namura in my 04 cr250. SO far so good. I normally would run a PRO-X OR VERTEX.