Sign in to follow this  

no spark xr600

hi all, new member here and i am having an issue with my 94 xr600r, it stopped on me about four months ago on the way home from a wet weekend ride we had to cross a weir which had water up around the bottom of the motor/stator area, it didnt actually stop there but about 5kms up the road after putting it down from a top gear wheelie, so i am unsure if its water thats caused the problem or a loose wire etc from my wheelie. here is some of the tests that me and a mate have done,

stator is reading 91.5ohms,

swapped cdi and coil for that from a working bike,

pulse generator 407 ohms,

performed continunity tests and visual check on all circuits (we think),

by passed kill switch,

we also tested where the stator joins the cdi whilst kicking it over (no plug of course) and the average reading was 7.4 volts,

although i am no bike mechanic (obviously) i would assume that it would have to be an open circuit somewhere as i would imagine that even with 91.5 ohms reading from the stator that i would still manage at least a some spark rather than nothing? what sort of ohms should a standard stator put out anyway? thanks ahead for all you input and suggestions, bucket

Sounds like the stator ignition high voltage winding. You need about 60 volts to get any kind of spark. The resistance is way too small. The exact value varies by year but they are all a lot more than 91 ohms. I don't have my manual handy, but I think it should be more like 240 ohms.

so it looks like i need a visit to rickystator.com? heard any bad on them? or is there a cheaper option as i have no intention of running anymorw than might standard headlight.

I don't have my manual handy, but I think it should be more like 240 ohms.

Yeah, somewhere between 230-320Ω.

If you're a glutton for punishment, you could try rewinding the exciter coils on your current stator.