Sign in to follow this  

Temperamental 450x

Hey guys, great site

I've got a frustrating issue with my 05. Some days it'll go some days it won't. I bought the bike in the summer and haven't changed a thing, other than regular maintenance. The bike was always easy to start. As the weather got colder and I started riding less the bike got progressively harder to start, understandable. Now the bike is acting strangely only firing some-days and other days not at all. The valves are spot on, carb/pilot is clean as a whistle, no air leaks fresh gas and a good spark. I'm at a loss. Any help trouble shooting this issue would be appreciated.

Thanks, Ian

checked the spark plug? Probably time to put a new one in, especially if its never been done

When it got hard to start the spark plug was the first thing I changed. Exhaust seems good, I replaced the header gasket last week just in case. I'll check the grounds.

Thanks, Ian

Not sure how cold you are talking about but my 05 can be really cold nosed when the temp is below 50°. I usually have to open the throttle 5-8 times to prime it. I start with fuel on, choke on, 5 wacks of throttle....hit the start button.....if nothing 3 more wacks. It usually sputters to life at about 8 turns of the throttle. When hot it starts with just a touch of the button and no hot start required. I've read that slightly enriching the air screw can help with cold weather starting.

When i get it running it runs a little rough, carb needs some adjustment, but can't really adjust it now when the bike won't start. The only thing i can think of at this point is electrical. Could it be the TPS? I got the air screw as far as it can go without changing the jets. The bike is totally uncorked, which should make it easier to start...right?