Sign in to follow this  

some Questions about my KE 100

HI, I am both new to riding, and new to your forum just bought my first bike to learn on (self taught) and figured I cant get into too much trouble on a little 100, its a 2000 with about 830 miles on the clock, and no owners manual, so I had a few questions that I am hoping someone can answer, First what is the best oil to use in the crankcase? and how often should I change it? is there any special maintenance this bike needs at this mileage? and I am very disappointed in the brightness of the headlight, is there any way to upgrade it?

so far I am loving this bike, its pretty quick (to me at least) easy to ride nice and crisp on the gear changes, and smoking fuel millage, there is miles of hard packed dirt trails near my house that I am looking forward to getting on and exploring. Thanks in advance for the help, :thumbsup:

a few pics of the lil green monster

IMG_1391.jpg

IMG_1392.jpg

Sweet ride !!!!!

:thumbsup:

Just run any two stroke gearbox oil, probably the cheaper the better in this case.

As far as the headlight goes, being a 6 volt system, there aint much you can do there. Hold it wide open and you will get the brightest headlight possible. Just hold it wide open everywhere !!!!!!!!

:ride:

Thanks, and I will hold off on the wide open throttle for a little bit yet, being my first bike and all, and maybe just tape a LED flashlight to my helmet :thumbsup:

just thought of another question, I run marvel mystery oil in with the premix on my chainsaws and they seem to start better since I started doing this, is there any advantage in doing this with the MC? or is it unnecessary?

DO NOT put Mystery oil in with the premix!

First of all, there's a reservoir under the seat for the 2 stroke oil. Use ANYTHING labeled "2 stroke motorcycle oil" not Toro or John Deere lawn equipment oil or Walmart $1.99 qt 2 stroke goo.