Sign in to follow this  

Guidance, Please

I have purchased the parts needed to rejet the carb, but i have an embarrassing question. How do i get to the carb?

I know my way around an FCR pretty well so once I'm there, I should be fine,

but how do I get there?

So I guess I'm asking; who among you has found the easiest route removal?

Interesting question......... I followed the manual and it was WAY too much work and don't believe I had to do to half of what they told me too. It involved removing the subframe,starter and most electrical components which was time consuming. The manual said to remove it through the right side of the bike [big PITA] but I found that removing the top of the rear spring and removing the carb through the back of the bike [between frame] was MUCH easier. I also don't think removing the starter or subframe was necessary either. I'm thinking next time I'll just flip the subframe up so I don't have to remove all the electronic stuff. I know DIRK was saying in a post he can rip it down and back in about an hour which sounds magical to me:worthy: DIRK, what do you do exactly? Please enlighten us bumbling idiots [speaking only for myself] lol! :banana:

Remove the seat, unbolt the subframe and flip it up, unbolt the top of the rear shock and let it drop down a bit, disconnect cables and fuel line, loosen intake boot clamps, and finally maneuver it out the back. Takes me about 20 min.

Do you remove the tank and the airbox as well?

Yes to the tank [5 minutes] and the airbox is attached to the subframe. If you just flip the subframe up as suggested, you should be good. Unfortuately, I haven't tried the "easy" method yet, only the "manual" way so I can't comment exactly on the process but the front on the airbox is attached to the back of the carb and it should seperate easy enough. Let us know how you make out :banana: Did you get that email?