Antigravity Batteries Giveaways: Winners Announced! Read more... ×
Sign in to follow this  

NorthCarolina Does North Carolina require dirt bikes to be titled?

I'm an Illinois resident looking to go pick up a vintage MX bike from a private seller. When we buy a used dirt bike (not street legal) here in Illinois we are still required to drop by our "DMV" office after the sale to show the bill of sale and pay a $25 flat sales tax, and if the bike was required by the seller's state to be titled, surrender a properly signed title from the seller, and pay the Illinois title fee.

Does North Carolina require dirt bikes to be titled?

no title but you are supposed to report the sale to the department of revenue. If you do that or not is all up to you !

Just so I'm clear on this, when two NC residents make a deal on a used MX bike, the only document in the transaction is a bill of sale, no title of ownership exists? Does NC want it reported in order to collect a sales tax?

Just so I'm clear on this, when two NC residents make a deal on a used MX bike, the only document in the transaction is a bill of sale, no title of ownership exists?

We can't register a dirtbike in NC (i.e. receive a state-issued title and tag) since they won't let us ride them on the road. Therefore, obtaining a title isn't even possible here.

You can ask the guy if he has the MSO or "Certificate of Origin" (which is the document a vehicle manufacturer includes with new bikes). In states that allow a dirtbike to be registered, this is the document you would take to the DMV office to start the registration process.

Does NC want it reported in order to collect a sales tax?

Not sales tax but property tax.

• Like 1

Just so I'm clear on this, when two NC residents make a deal on a used MX bike, the only document in the transaction is a bill of sale, no title of ownership exists? Does NC want it reported in order to collect a sales tax?