Sign in to follow this  

Broken Clevis

I consider myself a lucky person. I've managed to survive being hit head on by a drunk driver, and, perhaps more impressively, survived a neurotoxin attack while serving in the military. That said, I sometimes think I might have used up all my luck (can't tell, the gauge is never accurate) and so I tend to be over cautious on things these days.

Anyway, a reputable mechanic was doing a once over on my bike and I basically told him I wanted it to be safe. The suspension was shot (used bike I recently purchased) and so I told him to go ahead and redo it so that it would be safe. When it was done he told me the clevis was still broke but would be fine for the type of riding I do (not really racing, though I do ride the local mx tracks and some tough trails).

I'm no mechanic (hence the reason I pay someone else to work on my bike) but I just can't fathom how that clevis being anything less than 100% is not an issue, though this mechanic's reputation is immaculate (really, I can't say enough about how respected he is, and he's a nice guy to boot). So, before I get worked up about this stupid part, can someone explain to me why this is or is not a legitimate issue?

Thanks in advance :banana:

First of all, thank you for your service to our country!

Secondly, broken parts are NEVER okay! What kind of bike? I wouldn't ride the bike until the part is fixed. Let me know if I can help.

First of all, thank you for your service to our country!

Secondly, broken parts are NEVER okay! What kind of bike? I wouldn't ride the bike until the part is fixed. Let me know if I can help.

I second that and I need to say it again, THANK YOU FOR YOUR SERVICE TO OUR COUNTRY! I never served so I feel like I am just borrowing mine time here from the people who have, Thanks again.

What clevis are you talking about, rear brake? I would have your man explain it to you. Add some pictures if you can and we can be of more help.