Sign in to follow this  

CHEAP First bike... What should I get?

Hey, I have never hade a dirtbike before and I am wanting to get a CHEAP ($500-600) dirtbike just for kicking around, hunting in the hills, etc. NOTHING extreme like racing, jumps, or anything. Obviously it will be on the older side (1980's-90's), and preferabley not too big... I am 21 and around 160lbs. I was looking at the Honda XR 200s, Yamaha XT 125, KDX 200, KX125... all in the '80s - 90's year range. Also, I would hugely prefer a 4 stroke engine.

I would LOVE any tips you guys have about what a good bike to start with would be! I am new to all this, and although I have ridden quads, not really dirtbikes. Thanks!

Chris

why are you looking for 4 stroke?

if you are trying to go cheap....4 stroke is not the road to take.

also, a used 4 stroke? i hope you are mechanically inclined...

I would be surprised if you can find anything that cheap, even older bikes, unless they are completely shot

Husband and I both love playing on my DRZ 125L (big wheel) He is a lot bigger/heavier than you and the bike is great for following trails or chasing the kids around.

I picked up mine for $1100 a year ago. I think it was a 2006 or 2007. Good Luck.

to get a decent bike that cheap your going to have to know the person. Or a government auction, or something slick like that.

I was told that a 4 stroke would be easier to maintain...

I believe that in a 2 stroke you have to mix the gas and oil... is that right?

Maybe the 2 stroke is easier to maintain though?

thanks!

thanks!

maybe a older trail bike, like a xr200 or xr250, but they too get complicated quickly

2 strokes do need oil/gas mixed, but if you cant handle that, your gonna have a bunch of problems trying to maintain a dirt bike

the reason bikes never get that cheap is people can part them out and make more than that off the parts