Get that dancing monkey off your back! Read more... ×
Sign in to follow this  

No oil getting to the head - Updated 17 March Cylinder off

Well I got my head back from eddie yesterday with new valves and cam journals fixed. Got every thing put back together with a new cam chain. I reused the clutch cover gasket because it had less than 150 miles on it. Did the loctite mods while it was all part. Refilled with new oil and coolant and started the bike for about 30 seconds. I tell from the start it has some serious compression now but I shut it off to check for oil flow. Took the bolt out and pulled the plug boot and got to cranking. Nothing. No Oil. Made a video and took some pics. The guy I bought it from put an E model base gasket on it. All good but it seems to be letting oil seep through. Im not an expert by any means. But maybe the base gasket is blocking the oil passage by half and it is saturating the gasket. Here are the pics and video.

th_MOV03950.jpg

DSC03958.jpg

DSC03957.jpg

DSC03956.jpg

DSC03954.jpg

School me!

Edited by BONESTOCK

Put the plug back in and start it up. I'll bet you get oil flow. It looks like it is trying.

Forgot to add the bike smokes now when I rev it a little. Didnt do this before.

Put the plug back in and start it up. I'll bet you get oil flow. It looks like it is trying.

I did that and cranked it with the valve cover off. I dont know how much oil is suposed to be coming up.

It started spitting it out better and maybe it will get better as the oil warms.

th_MOV03959.jpg

Hmm. OK. In post 1 you say you just got the head back after having the cam journals fixed. Cam journal problems are usually lack of oil. You seem to still have an oiling problem. Might be worth it to dig deeper. Oil pump, oil pump drive gear, oil filter, oil screens, oil passages, gaskets, that little "O" ring between the case and outer cover??????..........