Sign in to follow this  

First bike help!

Hey guys, im new here, I was refered by my friend bryan, redtillidie on here. He taught me how to ride on a crf230f, and have been riding for about 6 months now. I have been on his crf280x, a crf250R and a Crf 450R, the 450r is too fast, and the 250r feels like it is too much aswell, I like the 250x power but when changed to a 280x it feels like to much torque for me, Im still a newb lol. Ive been looking into getting a CR 125 because they are cheap, easy to maintain, and light. Id like a crf250x based on I am a sucker for trees, I ride trails and would prefer trails over track any day. The downside in my eyes is that the 250x is pricey, and heavier then the 125. Id prefer to stay red and ride honda, but if anyone prefers anything other lmk. Id like you guys's help to find me a good bike, im about 6'0 and about 175 lbs.

Edited by Cjacob74

Get a 125 and learn how to use the clutch. They are a lot of fun.

A stock Honda Cr 125 would suck for most trails. You should really look into enduro 2 strokes. I don't know your budget, but a KTM 200exc or any other enduro brand 125-200 might be the ticket.

Bikes to consider

Husky WR 125

KTM 200 exc

Kawasaki KDX 200

They make about the same HP as a 250f, but don't have to be wound out so much, and are way lighter too.

They are also way more torquey than the honda cr...

try a smoker and see how you like it, some prefer the more tractor like 4-stroke power and how it hooks up

In my opinion, no bike is to fast. It's up to you to control the bike. Once your used to it and have ridden it for a while you'll always want more. Consider different brands. Brand loyalty is nice and all but no Manufacturer builds a bad bike these days. KTM and Yamaha both offer very nice 4 stroke 250 trail bikes.

Are you looking for new or used? If new, look for a leftover '09 model as you should be able to talk the dealer down in price.

I just got a new '09 YZ450f for $5400.