Sign in to follow this  

XR400 Setup

Hi all...have been a member without a ride for years, but today fulfilled a longtime (since I was 8 and am now 41) dream . Bought a 2001 XR400 in great condition. Basically stock but legal on-road here in Michigan.

Anyway, I need some advice on basic set-up. I am a big guy, 6'3", 245lbs. What do you recommend as far as suspension settings. Should also note I am a beginner as have only rode an XR250 a handful of times.

Any feedback would be appreciated.

Thanks...

John

STock front end is very soft, 150lb rider soft. Can check Racetech, but you need .47 fork springs which will make a huge difference. Onroad too.

Rear is a 10.0 and for your weight they say an 11.0 is ideal, so if you aren't fast or jumping you could make do with the rear for awhile at least.

Best money I ever spent on an XR (several), or any other dirt bike for that matter, was to have the suspension professionally revalved/resprung for my particular weight and riding conditions. Worth every penny.

You're looking at around $400-$500 for front and rear, revalved and resprung for your weight and riding type.

Suspension is probably the best "justifiable" expense you can spend on your bike.

What kind of total outlay is having the suspension professionally done? I'm 6'5" and 255, and I make any bike feel mushy...

Hi all...have been a member without a ride for years, but today fulfilled a longtime (since I was 8 and am now 41) dream . Bought a 2001 XR400 in great condition. Basically stock but legal on-road here in Michigan.

Anyway, I need some advice on basic set-up. I am a big guy, 6'3", 245lbs. What do you recommend as far as suspension settings. Should also note I am a beginner as have only rode an XR250 a handful of times.

Any feedback would be appreciated.

Thanks...

John

John,