New to the world of husky

So I am new to the world of Husqvarna bikes. I've been on a Kawasaki klx 400 sr for a while now and looking for something that is lighter and more agile. Friend of mine rides a KTM 520 and I like it, but not sure if I should drink the orange koolaid. Husky bikes have been looking attractive lately. Hard to find though. What are the years to avoid or the years to look for? My budget is about $3000 or so.

I came across a 99/00 that is somewhat local to me. Seller wants $2200. Here is the description: 99/00 Husqvarna TE 410, Clean bike amazing power. Pro Taper bars, ASV levers, Marzochi front end Brembo brakes, Titanium FMF Exhaust. This bikes rips. comes with brand new from Husqvarna; extra tank, radiator shrouds, graphics, all still in the package. Also comes with front headligth set up (original Husqvarna), and tailight. This is not street legal, but is California green sticker and currently registered. I hold the pink in my hand. No surprises with this bike.

Whatever I end up with will be dualsported, if it isn't street legal already. AZ is pretty lax about street requirements.

• 2 weeks later...

I own a TE 410 1998 and, if I were you, I will buy the one you described ASAP. IMPO, these are bulletproof bikes, very simple to maintain, fast and easy to drive; in the other hand, they are somewhat heavy, fat and/or wide, long and rear steer. That said, I owned a TE 450 '04 and compared with my current bike, I prefered the the 1998 bike, because my age and budget. I hope this info will help you. Best Regards.

Good to know MrSmith!

I'm going to see if the bike is still for sale and go after it if it is. The only thing I need to figure out is how the AZ MVD will feel about bringing a bike from CA that isn't currently plated and issuing me a plate. I know that I need a headlight/taillight and a horn. I think that should be good... His asking price is $2200. If I can get it out of his hands for $2000 then I'll be pretty excited!