2003 125sx... rev limiter??

I recently bought a 2003 125sx. Great bike, excellent condition, all stock and well maintained. It is very peppy. When I pin the throttle it doesn't die or sputter, but it seems to reach a point where it will not rev any higher, it doesn't wind out. I am used to 4 strokes, and this is my first 2 stroke bike, so I am unfamiliar. Is this normal? Does it have a rev limiter?

If it is not running to its potential those things will change how high it revs and how much power it has or limit power if something is wrong and could be a problem.

However, from what you said there may be nothing wrong with it. To answer the other part of your question about rev limiters and in the interest of discussion:

I am not an expert on modern two strokes and there is some debate as to weather two strokes have rev limiters, but from what I have read and experienced, I don't think they do. Some small low power engines in non dirt bike applications may have rev limiters. I don't think any modern two stroke dirt bikes has a rev limiter built into the ignition with the exception of some small bikes for kids that are switchable to limit power that I have read about. I have heard and made 4 stroke dirt bikes hit the rev limiter. I have never head or made a two stroke do that, even when pinning for a second in a no load free state when trying to raise the nose in the air. I wouldn't be surprised if some of the ignition mapping promotes loss of power intentionally after some RPM but this is not a rev limiter in the sense of a four stroke rev limiter.

Two stroke dirt bikes are designed to develop power through a certain band of RPM and are apparently self limiting to some degree past that because the power flattens out to the point where they loose power and don't rev much higher even in a free state. BTW, that doesn't mean it is good for it to rev that high but generally they seem to hold up to it and just wear faster if you ring the snot out of it all the time.