Sign in to follow this  

How to tow

Ok so Ive seen several posts about people towing others out... my question is what method do you use?

Where do you connect to the bike that is towing and where to the bike that is being pulled? how much distance between bikes seems to work best? And any tips for keeping the tow strap out of the tires?

thanks

I'm not an expert at towing or being towed but I should be:lol::applause:

I like to loop the rope to pull at the center of steering like around the top of both forks. Might have to drop the front plate or light to avoid damaging it. It makes it easier to steer and less stressful when being pulled. It's easy to ride the brakes a little to keep from bumping into your tow. When I'm the pull guy I like to hook the rope around my right footpeg. Makes for a solid mount and good control over the rope.👍🤣 I keep a Moose tow strap in my pack. Compact and durable.🙂

Something you and your regular ride buddy's should try before actually having to do it. For the person being towed...best I found is to make sure you are pulling from the center of the bike. I like using a flat strap. I always want to be able to disconnect at a moments notice so I'll twist the strap around the bar a few times then bring the end to my left hand. Twist keeps the pull stress at the center part but keeps holding onto the strap very easy. As for length....you want at least 2 bike lengths between you.

Key is the two riders coordinating throttle and brakes. Brakes are particularly important on unflat terrain. You want to keep tension on the strap. Tow bike must maintain smooth throttle. Most who try for the first time end up in a heap a few times till they figure it out.

Good thing is now a days bikes are pretty reliable. Couple 3-4 decades ago mechanical issues were the norm.