Sign in to follow this  

Axle travel vs cushion stroke, '09 CRF450 spring rate

Returning rider here, just got a new 09 CRF450R, have ridden about 2 hrs, and I'm at the point of starting to tweak the suspension. I put a zip tie on the fork tube to see how much travel I was using, and it measured right around 10.7 in from fully extended. I think I was bottoming slightly since I seem to recall a slight "tink" sound after some jumps, but since I'm new to the bike it's hard to distinguish that from other sounds (like cable slap against the front plate, chain slap, etc). I notice in the service manaual it says something like "axle travel" was 10.7 in, and "cushion stroke" was like 12.3 in. (in ballpark numbers, I'm at work with no access to the manual at the moment). What's the difference? I'd like to confirm if I was actually bottoming or not. I noticed the zip tie wasn't pressed all the way against the axle block, was about 2 in. north of that.

After that what I want to determine is, if I am bottoming, would I be better off dialing in more compression damping or getting a stiffer spring? I'm 170 w/o gear, and it has the stock .46 fork spring. I'm aware of the complaints about the '09 CRF450R having way too soft forks, I just want to make my own determination rather that swapping springs just "because some magazine guy said so". I don't notice the stinkbug feeling with the bike, but then again I don't have a frame of reference either (been out of dirt bikes for about 20 yrs, been doing roadracing).

FYI mx for me is for fun. I've no intention of racing mx, just want to ride some tracks and have fun.

I'm not familiar with the term, but my guess is that what they're referring to is the hydraulic stop at the end of the fork stroke. The last inch or so would be the "cusion" by way of a hydraulic stop.