New hare scramble racer. Keep and race my KDX200 or upgrade?

Hey guys, I started racing in the Arkansas Hare Scramble circuit a few months ago. This is my first time ever racing, and I think I picked a good bike for my first time out- a 2004 Kawi KDX200. Bone stock.

In the 3-4 months I've been 'racing' this KDX, I've noticed myself improving drastically. I'm moving up a class, 'Trailrider' to 'Sportsman', which is still a fairly newbie level class. Not quite C class. =P

Here's my dilemma. I'm 6'2", around 250lbs. I'm trying to get down to low 200's. But anyway, I know I'm not outriding my suspension yet, but I still definitely have had a few moments in higher speed turns or through some rock gardens when the suspension I could tell was in over it's head.

I priced getting it resprung and revalved through Factory Connection, and it's $750. I only paid $1,000 for the bike. I don't mind spending the cash, BUT, I'm wondering if I should find a bit more 'serious' bike. Something along the lines of a KTM250-300 or, I don't know what else. I just don't dump the money into this KDX and hit a wall in say, less than a year to where I feel like I need more bike or more power.

What do you guys think? Have any of you competitively raced a KDX in B or C class?

I'm in the B class

Suspension work will make a WORLDS of diffrence to you bike.

Are there any suspension shops that are local to you? Its best to have it set up for your conditions.

Yes, a KTM 250 or 300 (I love my 300xcw) will help you become a better ridder but I'm not sure if its really a funner bike (if that makes sence)......

I'd say get the suspension dialed in for you on your 200 and ride it another year .... you'll know when its time for a better bike.