Sign in to follow this  

thinking about getting a cr125

I am somewhat new to dirt bikes. I have a xr200 and have some experience on it, mostly all on trails. It is starting to feel very slow. I want to keep this bike as an extra to let a friend tag along with or stuff like that. I am thinking of a 2000+ cr125. I am 6' 180lbs. I would really like to stick with a honda and am really leaning towrds a 2 stroke. want something different and easy to work on. I will be using it mostly for trails, and ocasionally on a track. anyone have any sugestions on this bike or another one?

For a cr125, the00' modle had some issues with air flow and all top end, not joking. So if your coming off a xr200 and get a 00'-02' yu most likely not going to like it, trial wise, no bottom end. Try to get an 03' They had some bootom and great mid, kinda lacked top end. The 04' had all top also. When i rode my 02' 125 from a yz250, thebike was really hard to get out first cause of the all top end. I hated it intill i got used to it and it kept me on my toes and better shifting. So you always goota stay on the pipe with the pickey CRs. I would recommend a Yz if your coming off a xr200. The yzs are easier to ride in trails an track if you ask me.... I like the crs for the all top end though, keeps me on my toes and make learn when to shift going fast on track....

im also 6 170 pounds n i have a 1997 cr125 and its the last year of the steel frame and the best n last cr 125 honda made - crs are great bikes and so are the yz i would say go for either im not bias lol but my cr effin rips

im in tolland ct. what about you. i looked into YZ's but they are just so tall. i wanted a bike that was a little shorter. iv read a lot that the 97s and earlier had great motors but can the handle like the newer aluminum ones? are they any heavier?

they are pretty much the same dry weight around like 192 pounds or suttin like that mine handles great to be honest