Sign in to follow this  

07 CRF450R Bog

Typical question here: I have an 07 CRF450R That I just installed a DrD full Ti system and a jd jetting kit into today. These are the only engine mods I have. Bike runs good everywhere except for an off-idle bog when I crack the throttle open hard. I don't believe its an AP issue or anything, because the bike ran perfect before I threw on the pipe and jetting kit.

I have the Red needle in currently at the 4th position fron the bottom.

#185 Main.

Fuel screw at approx 2 turns out.

Stock slow jet, which is #43 I believe.

I adjusted the fuel screw a bit from 1 3/4 to 2 turns out and it helped, but only to a certain extent. I'm assuming I'm running rich off the bottom, and running a good a/f ratio on top. Do I need to drop a position on my needle, or a bigger slow jet? I'm new to jetting, if you can't tell! I'm trying to educate myself more on jetting while I wait for a response from you guys.

I ride at about 2600 +/-500ft elevation.

Help would be appreciated!!

Thanks!

Edit: More info, I just checked the plug: Its a light gray.

Edited by IronSteed450

If it's bogging right off throttle/idle "only" and "not" through the entire first 1/4 throttle then it's probable the leak jet, NOT THE PILOT (slow jet, same things). If the bog is through the entire first 1/4 throttle then I would look at the pilot jet.

Read this to test. https://thumpertalk.com/forum/showthread.php?t=327405

I have a 07 CRF250R, had the same issue. I mean the exact same issue. Didn't do the mods you've talked about however, had the same bog. Went from a stock 70 leak jet to a 40 leak jet, played with the AP screw a little. BLAM!! Bog it now gone!!! (Thank you William1!)

Anyway, not 100% sure if it's the same fix for your 450 because I'm still learning about about these 4S carbs myself but, from what I've read and what I've expereiances,.... it's the leak jet and AP screw. It's an 07 so you should need the AP mod.