Sign in to follow this  

Two questions please

Hi everyone,

This is my first post on this forum; just joined. I recently bought an '07 DRZ 400 SM. I'll be 64 this month and still in very good shape. I used to ride a lot from age 16 to about 50, then sold my last ride, a BMW R100RS. Most of my riding has been on pavement. Now, being retired and a full time RVr, we spend Winters in AZ and so far, Summers in Wyoming. My wife is just starting to ride, Kawasaki Sherpa. We trailer both bikes behind our 5th. wheel home. While I'm a newbie at dirt (but learning fast) I still ride about 60-70% on pavement. The turn signals and tail light on my DRZ are very small and not as visible as I'd like them to be to other drivers. First question is can someone recommend some easily installed larger, more visible ones for a reasonable price? Second question has to do with trailering the bikes behind the fifth wheel. I have the trailer on order. It's specially made just for motorcycles; has wheel rails, tie down anchor points, 15 inch wheels, single axle, etc. Never having trailered motorcycles before, I'd appreciate any suggestions about the best way to "tie down" the bikes without damaging the suspension, etc. Thanks in advance for any help.

Not sure if there are bigger turn signals than the stock ones. Usually, riders seek a more compact signals out there for aesthetic reasons.

As for trailering bikes, I suggest investing in "fork support(s)." "Fork support" is a hard plastic that you lodge between the front tire & front fender. It prevents the fork front being compressed further, thus damaging fork seals. That's if you're fastening the bikes by placing the tie-downs on the handlebars, ofcourse.👍

cesaradams20.jpg

Not sure if there are bigger turn signals than the stock ones. Usually, riders seek a more compact signals out there for aesthetic reasons.