A little psychological MX help from some Thumpettes please???

Hey Ladies-

So here is my problem: I have been riding dirt for about three years (took last year pretty easy though bc I was more interested in bass fishing than riding), and snowmobiling for about 7 years.

I'm totally confident in snow, but when it comes to dirt, I am always so scared of getting hurt that it is getting in the way of me improving my riding. I never "push it" a little like I know I need to improve my speed.

I'm not sure if it is because I started on a really fast 2 stoke (2003 KTM 125sx, I am getting a 4 stroke for this season though) or if it because when I first started riding I got a pretty bad ankle injury, that still hurts, when my peg smashed my ankle when I was hauling butt down a hill on a trail. I am also afraid of getting permanently disabled on a bike, which I know happens to some riders but in reality I could get disabled in a car wreak, falling down stairs, etc. These fears seem silly because I'm not scared of riding a snowmobile and I do things on it that could REALLY get me hurt.

Has anyone else had these intense fears and how did you overcome them?

If there are any amateur therapists here please help me out!

Thanks!

๐Ÿ‘

I think your on the right track as attitude is 60% of anything you do and skill is the other 40%.

Couple of things (and this is advice from someone who loves to ride so I have it down mentally but my riding isn't necessarily all that great ๐Ÿ‘):

1) do you have good protective gear? Not that it can guarantee you won't get hurt again but it does help. For example, As you've already hurt your ankle than I'd definitely suggest making sure you have good stiff boots.