Sign in to follow this  

Oregon I'm trying to buy local....... really!

Ok, I guess this is just me talking out loud and venting.

Last week I was in the Gresham area and figured I'd stop by to visit the "new" KTM shop in Gresham. I am a big supporter of local businesses (I am a small business owner myself) and just wanted to see what the "new" (or I guess old) ownership had on display and in stock. After talking to the guy behind the counter (long time motorcycle shop guy......i think most know him - good guy) I left with a new sense of hope. Finally a shop that I can walk into in a moments notice that is stocking lots of parts, has the local feel, and actually wants your business. I talked to the guy for a while and left with a couple of oil filters, some Maxima oil, and a bottle of premix. Again, I had intentions of forever supporting them with my purchases.

After I got home I placed the bottle of premix next to others in my shop. I noticed that the exact same bottles had much different prices - Gresham KTM bottle was $11.99, the previous purchased bottle from a few months ago from anohter shop was $7.99. The Maxima was also different - Gresham KTM $8.95, other shop $6.95.

I know this isn't going to break the bank, but I just don't understand. Shops will complain about the online pricing then turn around and jack up supplies pricing. The guy behind the counter and I specifically had the conversation about buying online vs. in a local shop. He said buying online doesn't help the shop or me. We all need to buy from them to keep them in business.

With all this being said I just wish these guys would be competitive (or even close is good enough for me) with their supplies and parts pricing. I would love to buy everything from them but also need to watch what I spend. We have 6 mx bikes in our family and ride weekly.

Thanks for listening!👍