Why a 4 stroke over a 2 stroke bike?

I'm new to the world of 4 stroke dirt bikes and I'm just wondering why would someone want a 4 stroke over a 2 stroke? Other than the fact you don't need to always mix oil and deal with the smoke what other reasons are there? I just bought a used 2005 YZ 450F and it seems like there's a boatload more maintenance on it compared to the older 2 strokes I've had in years past. The more I read about all the 4 stroke issues the more I wonder if I made the right choice. As it is right now I can't get this thing to run right after rebuilding the carb so now it looks like I may need to check the valves for proper adjustment. The bike doesn't have many miles on it but it looks like that's the next thing to check since I can only keep the bike running with the choke on.

4-strokes are easier to ride and put the power to the ground better than 2-strokes.

I'm definitely a 2-stroke person but I don't hate 4-strokes. I myself just don't think I can give up the rush of being on the pipe on a 2-stroke. Even if you're not going that fast, you feel like you're on a rocket.

Its good to read up on maintenance and stuff but keep in mind most of the problems you read about the bikes are only because people don't post about how their bikes ran good today, only if they had a problem.

Keep the filter clean, change the oil regularly, and keep the valves in check and you should be golden. YZF's are the most reliable ones out there. Start with the small and work your way up if the bike is giving you trouble. You say you rebuilt the carb, make sure the air boot is tightened and there's no air leaks first. Check the valves, Make sure the gas is fresh, pop in a new plug, make sure the filter is clean (The basics).

One reason is there are only two manufactures making them now I believe. Yamaha and KTM.

One reason is there are only two manufactures making them now I believe. Yamaha and KTM.

Suzuki still makes the 250R and 85/L