Sign in to follow this  

Front brake help - 08SM

OK this is my first time changing the front brake pads on my SM. I took the caliper off of the mount and removed the pin and both pads came right out. The metal clip on the side where the hook end of the pads go remained in place.

I used a C clamp on one of the pistons to make room for the new pads and was then able to slide the new pads in. As i went to re insert the pin i notice the pads were not lined up to accept the pin. To get the pads to line up the hook is not is not butting up to the caliper. Is this correct? In this position i was not able to get the caliper back on the rotor.

HPIM3370.jpg

HPIM3369.jpg

Looks OK from THAT angle. Try spreading the pads with a screwdriver.

Everyhing seems to look okAY. So you only one piston back in?.......not both?

I'd take he front wheel off and reinstall the caliper and then put the pads on. Is there enough room for the rotor clearance wise? Or s it just that you can put the caliper back on the fork leg

Everyhing seems to look okAY. So you only one piston back in?.......not both?

I'd take he front wheel off and reinstall the caliper and then put the pads on. Is there enough room for the rotor clearance wise? Or s it just that you can put the caliper back on the fork leg

I only had 1 c clamp, when i would depress the piston the other would come out. What i did was made the pistons equal and that allowed me to get the pads on. i did try using a flat head screwdriver in an attempt to spread the pads (not on the inside of the pads themselves) but i still could not press it onto the rotor. So yes, not enough clearance to slide the rotor through the pads to mount back up.

Any suggestions appreciated!

ahh, makes sense. ill try it. should i take the top off the master cylinder?