Sign in to follow this  

What's a decent jack of all trades bike?

Hey guys, I'm interested in jumping into the sport. It would appear as if the local dirt bikes seem to have a little bit of everything, from trails to some motorcross stuff, so it looks like that's what my dirt bike would need to handle.

I'm about 5'7, and 143 pounds. As I previously said, I am a complete novice to the sport. I haven't driven a manual car, so operating a clutch may be something new to me (although, I have driven a manual ATV a couple of times before). I'm not very mechanical (I'm taking my schools power mechanics class next year), so I'm liking the alleged simplicity of the two-strokes.

This is asking a lot, and given than I'm a student with little budget, this doesn't sound very feasible. How much am I looking at for a bike to get into the sport? $1500-$2000 for an older, stock, bike?

Take a look at a 99-2002 Yamaha yz 250 two stroke, I just got rid of mine and it was a GREAT bike for everything you could throw at it! Take a look in the yamaha two stroke forum and they can give you more information for an informed decision!

I would also reccomend the older 2 strokes. They are easy to work on and fun 2 ride, but since u r a beginner u may want to look for something like an XR250 or mayb the X400 because they are easier to ride and begginer friendly. Even tho they are four strokes they are very easy to maintain.

I'm about 5'7, and 143 pounds.

I'm not very mechanical

How much am I looking at for a bike to get into the sport? $1500-$2000 for an older, stock, bike?

125 smoker:ride:

for your weight, height, and experience, i'd have to say go with a 250f enduro bike such as a yamaha WR250F, ktm 250 XC-F, or honda CR-F250X. the 250f and it's easy to use powerband will be perfect for you as a beginner.