Sign in to follow this  

Turning?

i am fairly new to the track, but have ridden it before

On thing is for sure, i suck at turning. Any advice on how to turn, ive heard a million different things,

stick you foot out and swing the rear end around...

pull both brakes in...

I need to know how to do regular turns and berms, any help would be great, thanks.

Confidence in yourself and the bike is the most important part. The more you do it the more you will get used to it. Put your weight on the outside foot peg and keep yourself centered to a little forward on the bike. Lean the bike over a bit and keep your inside leg out to control and stabilize the bike if you should slip up. Always squeeze with your knees to keep the bike in control and where you want it to go. Keep your outside elbow up and keep a finger on the clutch to keep the bikes power up. Always be looking ahead and not right in front of you. Just practice practice practice.

do i need to brake at all when i turn, or does it just depend on how fast i'm going. Another thing is how fast do i need to be going, if its a berm.

suspension, confidence, speed, commitment and body position... once I got my suspension dialed in it was alot easier to take corners at speed with more confidence. Keep your weight on the outside peg and slightly forward to keep the front of the bike planted and dont be afraid to keep twisting the throttle while working the clutch. That might be the single most important thing I learned at the riding school I attended was to trust the bike and stay on the throttle... same goes for the whoops! Took me a while to get used to it but once I just decided to go for it, it seemed to come so easy... now Im railing corners like its my job. Only time its ever bit me in the ass was from leaning too far and caught my bars on the ground from being in a deep rut. Its 90% confidence.