Sign in to follow this  

Help a new guy understand the XR250 suspension

So I bought this 2001 plated XR250 a few months ago. I am new to dirt bikes and so far I really like this bike. I think it is great bike for a new to dirt guy like myself. I have slowly been cleaning it up a little and changing out parts that are in need (seat cover, bars, sprockets, chain, etc..) minor stuff. The previous owner said the suspension had been set up by local suspension guy to his weight and style. Him and I are the same weight if that helps but he has been riding as long as I have been alive (40 yrs).

I want to learn more about how these suspensions work but the manual he gave me with the bike really only talks about replacing parts and nothing on set up. I see the rear shock has 2 adjusters (one on the canister and one below the spring), what do these do?

I dont know what to feel for as of yet when Im riding but I am learning as I go.

If anyone knows of a good guide for understanding the XR250 suspension I would love to know where to find it.

Thanks

On the rear shock, the clicker on the reservoir is for compression. The bottom adjuster on the clevis end of the shock is for rebound.

On the forks, the bottom adjuster is compression and the adjuster in the fork cap is rebound.

There's lots of info on how suspension works and tuning in a Google search.

Here's some to get you started.

http://www.off-road.gr/article17.html

On the rear shock, the clicker on the reservoir is for compression. The bottom adjuster on the clevis end of the shock is for rebound.

On the forks, the bottom adjuster is compression and the adjuster in the fork cap is rebound.

Uhh, dude, you got it wrong. XRs don't have rebound damping on the forks. They just have compression damping on the bottom and an air bleed plug in the fork cap.

Uhh, dude, you got it wrong. XRs don't have rebound damping on the forks. They just have compression damping on the bottom and an air bleed plug in the fork cap.