Sign in to follow this  

Pre-jumping? not sure what to call it?

i practiced a couple days ago and raced today, at a track here in socal.

there are two particular "camel back" jumps at this track, with one being a large step down behind it. if you hit either of these at speed they launch you way out into the void and the landings will rattle your fillings.

while practicing the jumps i approached way too fast and in an effort to avoid being launched, i ''bunny hopped" about 4 feet from the lip. the bike lifted off the face and i sailed over the peak, landing short of the nut cracker section. but i still carried my speed thru it.

this was kinda an epiphany. i started practicing this intentionally. the key seemed to be i had to carry alot of speed when i hit the face, which really made me nervous. today during the race i did it several times while at an angle on the approach. so with the bike leaned over i was prejumping and avoiding the peak. is there a name for this?

Sounds like pre-loading or pre-jumping to me at first. There is a 110ft table top at Riverside mx that has a face that kind of tapers over and rolls into the top of the jump. To clear it you have to compress your suspension at speed on the upramp and leave the jump before you reach the almost non existent lip.

Or you want someone to tell you that you scrubbed a jump?

you know, I do this successfully on my snowboard. you pre-jump well BEFORE the jump and so when you hit the actual ramp the board will not go airborn. commonly used in boardercross all the time. similar effects to a scrub (although you can't do scrubs on a snowboard which is why I guess boardercrossers do pre-jumps).

I've tried to do this on my bike with limited success. Seems to be easier (and more energy efficient on the rider) to just absorb the jump/bump with our legs so the bike becomes resistant to taking flight.

if someone can do it on a bike please speak up !

Sic...