Sign in to follow this  

Wheel Replacement...OEM or Aftermarket?

I managed to bend my front rim on my 2006 YZ 125, although I don't know how I did it???? My current wheels are stock and pretty scratched up but I just replaced the front bearings.

Anyway, I don't want to spend a ton and I am no expert rider or anything. My choices are:

1) Brand new G-force Richter front and rear wheels in matte black with black hubs for $500. No tires or tubes or anything.

2) Used 2006 OEM YZ 125 wheels and tires in literally new condition with original stock tires. These are ready to bolt on after I put my rotors and sprocket on them. Price is $500

What do you think I should do???

Thanks.

Get the OEM ones. they're Excel's and they're tough to beat for weight vs. strength. also if you ride any sand or gravelly stuff the black won't last really long on cheaper aftermarket rims.

just my .02

Thanks for the reply. The 2006 model year actually uses DID rims as stock. That is what came on my bike and that is what the used wheels are that I am looking at.

I ride MX tracks 99% of the time if that makes a difference. I am leaning towards the OEM pair for mental reasons...I dunno, plus I am ready for new tires and these have them.

The black would look sweet but won't I need to get new tires, tubes, rimlocks, mount and balance, etc.? What do you suppose the total cost would be if I bought the new wheels for $500 and brought them to the dealer to have decent tires mounted and balanced?

Do people balance their tires? I assume the pro's do but normal joes?

Also why cant u re-use the rim lock and tubes from ur old rims?

Replace the rim. The front is EASY. I bet you can do it for a hundred assuming spokes are ok.

If you order one and ship it to me, I ll lace it up...no charge. I need a project since Eric Gorr squashed my power project! I even have spare front spokes.....so dont be afraid to send it my way.