Sign in to follow this  

What oil viscosity / weight for motor or tranny

Even though Ive been riding for 8 years, I'd like to hear the opinions on this.

I ride an 08 crf450

Im using synthetic motorcycle oil in both my motor and transmission. Now, the manual basically recommends 10w-40 for both based on the typical temps I ride in 50-90 degrees. Now, some of us riders are rebels and chose not to go by the manual either because they'd rather go the cheapest route, believe its not important what weight to use, or believe that their logic supercedes whatever craziness the manufacturer is trying to convince us of.

Since I'm not an automotive/motorcycle engineer or chemist, I personally would be inclined to follow the instructions to the T, however ive been around many people who have "been around the block" with motors and they all have their own theories.

Quick example: my uncles blazer recommended 5w-30 year round, he put 1040 in the spring and fall and 20-50 in the summer. Motor ran til 405k miles all original parts and didnt burn oil. He lead me to believe that thicker oil protected better than watery thin oil, especially on long 80mph trips we would frequently take. The Lucas oil additive basically reinforced this idea with the thick, gummy oil. I did that same thing with my 4.6l mustang until a few strongly warned me against the higher viscosity could blow the motor because it was too thick to reach the bearings and such properly.

So, whats the deal with my CRF450? Can I run Amsoil 20-50 when its 90 degrees? 60 degrees? 40 degrees? 20 degrees? Is thin oil better or thick?

I would think that the thicker oil would be better in the motor/valve due to the constant high revs of my mx riding, and the thicker oil in the tranny would be better due to the clutch abuse that I give it.

Can someone please set me straight???