Sign in to follow this  

new YZ, what did i get

hello, im new to this site and new to the YZ bikes. 3 days ago i traded in my 08 TTR-230 for a 06YZ250f. it was used and raced, my question is what did i get? there are some after market parts on it. its gottarasgo rims, boyesen quickshot, pro taper bars, odd rear disk brake, o ring chain, 48 tooth rear sprocket and i dont know what the front is. the throttle is stiff to twist, why?

how do i tell if the front fork is stock? it has WER off road suspension on it.

i traded the TTR-230 and 500 cash for the YZ did i get a good deal?

sorry for all the nube questions but im new in the race bike world

06 YZ would be an upgrade from the TTR. 06 was first year aluminum frame. You gotta get the throttle fixed before you ride it though. It must return, snap back with no drag... that's a safety issue. There was a valve issue with the 06. Look at the VIN on the frame and see if there is a punch mark on it. That indicates the previous owner had the recall done and replacement valves. If it was raced, maybe he's already done the valves. Sounds like it's probably go stock gearing, 13X48. Other stuff you mentioned sounds like upgrades. Total value you probably gave about $2200 which could be a little high depending on the condition of both bikes. The TTR was a lot newer and is a great trail bike. First things I'd do is fix the throttle, check the airfilter and clean it, then change the oil and filter. Then I'd get a flywheel puller and get down to the small sprocket on the crank and check that for wear. Sharp pointed teeth means it needs a new crank. Pull the linkages appart and grease all bearings and threads. If all that's good, then I'd ride it.

the throttle doesnt stick its just harder to pull compared to the WR and the TTR.