Sign in to follow this  

The GPS question.

Yes I searched and if it's there I missed it. Sorry.

So I'm off to Deals Gap in may for a 2-stroke rally but I'm bringing the DR along for a change of pace from all the 2-stroke pavement pounding. Been doing it for 7 years now and there are just too many cool gravel back roads up there to ingnore any longer.

So here's the question. I want to hook up a GPS unit on the DR to help me find my way around the area. Some skyway roads, a few national parks etc.. I don't really have a lot of need for using it as a handheld. It will be dedicated (primarily) to the bike exposed to the weather and all that entails. What are you guys actually using and how do you like it. If you're not crazy about what you've got then why? What would you have preffered?

Yes I'm a noob to this and I understand the scale of the question. I trust the general knowledge of this board as a good starting point however if this is a waaay too in depth question what are the go-to sites to get a noob like me started.

Any and all advice VERY much appreciated.

I have the Tomtom rider 2, it's nice, the dealer hardwired it for me. It stays on the bike. I'm not sure how to plan a trip with it. I can set a destination, and it will get me there, but I can't choose which roads I want to take.

Hope that helps some.

I personally use and like the Garmin 60Cx. It is a handheld but can be mounted and powered off the bike battery if desired. This is one of the the most technical and flexible units on the market and is widely used. I does require a mount and detailed maps in addition to the unit.

If you are looking for a box with everything you need inside, check out the Garmin Zumo units. Simpler, less flexible but works well on MC and in Car.

Garmin is the 8,000lb elephant when it come to consumer GPS.

Bruce

P.S. ADVRider forum has a very good MC based GPS forum.